Are there any basic requirements in applying for the Singapore Environmental Achievement Awards (SEAA)?

Your organisation should be in the running for 2 years and above. You should be able to furnish the documentation (showing environment management, performance, innovation and/or leadership) to support your application.

For the SEC Green Innovation award category, we require for your product or part of your product to have a registered patent.


How should I get myself prepared for applying?

We recommend reading through the FAQs to get to know more about the awards. You may also participate in our SEAA workshops where we will share about the application process, criteria, and categories. Past winners will also be present to share about their experience and success stories.

You may also contact Ms Vanessa Low at 6433 5373 or vanessa.low@sec.org.sg for further information.


What kind of documentation are you looking for in the application?

Formal documentation of your environmental initiatives, detailed in the 4 criteria aspects of environment management, performance, innovation and leadership would be useful. You can also reference your submission to graphs and charts (appended in your attachment) to supplement your answers. Quantitative and verified data are strongly encouraged. All information provided in your submission will be treated with the strictest confidence.


What are the application fees like?

Application is free of charge. However, shortlisted applicants will need to pay an Assessment Fee. Assessment Fee helps SEC covers cost in arranging for technical experts to conduct the site assessments. As part of the Assessment Fee, shortlisted applicants will receive a Post-Assessment Report each which will outline the strengths and areas for improvement arising from the site assessment. A 7% Goods and Services Tax (GST) charge on the Assessment Fee is applicable.

Large Organisation SGD$ 1,300.00
Small and Medium Enterprise SGD$ 700.00
Public Sector Organisation SGD$ 1,300.00
Regional Organisation SGD$ 1,500.00


What are the categories that I can apply under? Can I apply for more than one category?
Yes. You can only apply up to a maximum of two award categories – one Organisation category and / or one Product category.

Organisation Category

– SEC Singapore Environmental Achievement Award (Manufacturing)
– SEC Singapore Environmental Achievement Award (Services)
– SEC Singapore Environmental Achievement Award (Public Sector)
– SEC Singapore Environmental Achievement Award (Regional)
– SEC Singapore Environmental Achievement Award (Maritime)

Product Category

– *SEC Green Innovation Award

*Note that applicants for SEC Green Innovation Award are excluded from the following award categories (Regional and Outstanding)


What entitlements do I get as a winner of the SEAA?

– One SEAA trophy to be given to each winner at the SEAA presentation ceremony.
– One certificate to be given to each award winner.
– One set of related photographs to the awardee taken at the SEAA presentation ceremony.
– Complimentary invites to SEC Conference where industry leaders converge to share insights of their environmental journey.
– A post-assessment report covering learning points and areas for improvements.
– SEAA winners will be listed on SEAA’s Hall of Fame (online), joining the ranks of fellow green and elite businesses.


How long is the application period?

The window for application will be open from 01 March – 31 May 2018.


What is expected throughout the application process?

You are required to submit a completed form by 31 May 2018 to Ms Vanessa Low at vanessa.low@sec.org.sg. During the shortlisting process, the secretariat may contact you to request for further information and / or clarify details to your submission. Please assist in responding to the secretariat by the required deadline.

If you are shortlisted for a site assessment, please prepare the necessary slides and documentation for the information which you have presented in your submission. You are strongly encouraged to have a management representative present during the site assessment.


How is the judging process like?

The SEAA judging process has 4 main stages. They are:

When will I get to know the results?

Results from the shortlisting process will be made known to you by early June 2018. The secretariat will contact you to arrange for a site interview if you have been selected.

The final results will be confirmed by the Steering Committee in end July 2018.


Who are some of the past winners?

Past winners include organisations like Asia Pacific Breweries, Glaxo Wellcome Manufacturing (a subsidiary of the GlaxoSmithKline Group), Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, Keppel Land Limited, Institute of Technical Education, and Grand Hyatt Singapore.

You can reference to the Hall of Fame page to get to know their respective award titles.


Has there been participation from foreign-based organisations?

SEC launched the Regional category in 2012 to organisations in South East Asia. In 2014, this award category was expanded to include countries in South Asia (India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bangladesh and Pakistan). Organisations that have participated include YTL Corporation Berhad, PT Beton Elemenindo Putra, KUB-Berjaya Enviro Sdn Bhd, Tanah Sutera Development Sdn Bhd and Tamilnadu Newsprint and Papers Limited.